Why Didn’t Jesus Activate the Divine Cheat Code?

Age of Empires II: The Age of Kings (1999) was my go to game during my younger days. I particularly enjoyed the campaign mode where you could relive epic battles of Saladin, Joan of Arc and Barbarossa. Another thing about me: I use cheat codes when I can’t win. There’s this cheat code that spawns a blue Shelby Cobra fitted with machine guns. Imagine a gun-toting car laying waste to knights and catapults in medieval Europe! 

One of the campaigns in Joan of Arc was particularly brutal and I was being trashed. So I activated a dozen Cobra cars to decimate the hordes of enemies. It worked. But the campaign just didn’t end. I was stumped. I razed every single thing but I couldn’t win. What was happening?

I reloaded the level and tried again, this time losing the battle without my cars. And I thought I had to restart. Surprisingly, the game moved on with the storyline. Joan of Arc was supposed to lose. Using the cheat codes I changed the tide of history. 

This strangely helps me understand Jesus’s divine and human nature during the Incarnation. He was 100% God and 100% Man. But while on earth, Jesus relied on his human nature and suppressed his divine attributes. He didn’t code-switch at will. The Holy Spirit enabled and empowered him to perform miracles.

We see this in the temptation of Jesus(Luke 4). Satan wanted Jesus to break his humanity by turning stones into bread to satiate his hunger. Jesus would have to use his divine power. Jesus refused. He could have but he didn’t. That would be like using a cheat code to activate the divine. 

Another incident was when the Chief Priests and elders were arresting Jesus in the garden (Matt 26). Peter tried to fight against the guards and Jesus stopped him. He said:

Matthew 26:53-54 

Do you think I cannot call on my Father, and he will at once put at my disposal more than twelve legions of angels? But how then would the Scriptures be fulfilled that say it must happen in this way?

Jesus could have called 72,000 angels to save him! But that would abort his mission of dying on a cross for us. When I activated the cheat code, history would have taken a turn. Joan of Arc was supposed to lose. Jesua was supposed to die. Activating his divine attributes would take him down a path that the Father never intended. Thank God that Jesus resisted all temptation to abuse his divine nature in order that we might be saved!

Tell me what you think.

