Do You Delight in God?

image

Psalms 37:4
Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

This verse has a certain order that is so important. When you delight yourself in God, then he will give you the desires of your heart.

Many people mess up the order, leading to messed up lives. They want God to give them the desires of their heart first, then they will delight in the Lord. It’s asking God to bless us first, before we will trust him. It’s like the Pharisees who asked Jesus for a sign before believing in him.

That’s not what this verse says. It says you are to delight in God before you even receive anything from him. Anyway, isn’t delighting in God an end in itself already?

I used to see God as a cosmic Santa Claus who exists to benefit me. And if God doesn’t give me what I want, he’s no use to me. “God, give me good grades or I won’t serve you!” “God, give me a wife or I won’t wait any longer for you!”

Well, I realised God doesn’t exist for me. I exist for God. When we truly delight in God alone, in his rich grace and mercy, he gives us what our heart desires.

Some might think that would devolve into a “give to get” timeless formula for twisting God’s arm. I disagree. When you truly delight and know God, your desires will be transformed and aligned to God’s Word and will. Those desires he will surely grant to you.

How do we delight in God? I can suggest three simple ways:
1. Read the Word of God.
2. Pray, worship.
3. Obey His commands.

Tell me what you think.

