Church Camp Reflections

I just returned from my Hakka Methodist church camp which was held in Bintan. My family originally didn’t want to join but thanks to the organiser’s persistence, we agreed. And I’m glad we did.

image

The invited speaker was Henson Lim who amazingly has 7 children! The topic of the camp was not about raising children but returning to the heartbeat of God. He spoke passionately about realignment to God’s will and finding out the assignment God wants us to do. The talks were good but rather vague, leaving me hyped up but not knowing how to apply it. However, it highlights the importance of examining our life for activities that are distracting us from our real assignment.

image

Other than the talks, fellowship with other brothers and sisters at the camp was a tremendous blessing. Usually on Sunday, little time is given for interactions unless you make an effort to meetup outside church. But during the camp, it was wonderful to sit down and have longer chats. I got to make new friends that were previously just a familiar face (‘Oh, so that’s who you are!’) and deepen existing relationships. I’m glad I managed to share my struggles and problems and received advice and prayers. For that, I thank God for the people He has placed in my life. My only regret is that I didn’t initiate more conversations. I pray that this will only be the blossoming of a developing friendship.

I’d like to encourage you to take time to know the people in church better because you’ll be spending eternity with them. You also need to support one another with our prayers.

Hebrews 10:24-25
And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.

Tell me what you think.

