When God Seems Slow

image

I was complaining about my PhD woes with a church member who is a Professor. As we prayed about it, he shared a passage with me and it touched my heart. I hope it blesses you too as you face problems in your life and lament why God is so slow in solving them.

God tells the Israelites that if they obey His commands, He will help them conquer the many nations before them to claim the promised land.

Exodus 23:27-28
I will send my terror before you and will throw into confusion all the people against whom you shall come, and I will make all your enemies turn their backs to you. And I will send hornets before you, which shall drive out the Hivites, the Canaanites, and the Hittites from before you.

Basically, God’s telling the Israelites that He’s gonna wipe out all their enemies. But then God says something interesting about the timeline of the conquests. I didn’t notice it till now.

Exodus 23:29-30
I will not drive them out from before you in one year, lest the land become desolate and the wild beasts multiply against you. Little by little I will drive them out from before you, until you have increased and possess the land.

Weird isn’t it? Do you think God could have driven all the enemies out in one year? Certainly! But in God’s limitless wisdom, He chose not to do that. Why not? So that the wild beasts would not multiply and cause future problems. God doesn’t remove all the problems all together because that would not be the wisest move. I’ll relate this truth to your life. It’s not about conquering nations and fighting off wild animals only!

Are there problems in your life that you want to be removed but nothing seems to be happening? I hope you change your perspective. God will not remove all your problems all at once because that would lead you to a bigger problem you did not anticipate. Let’s trust God’s wisdom and timing.

As verse 30 says, God works little by little so we can catch up. That’s the wisdom of God again. Don’t be discouraged when your problems seem to be improving only by tiny steps. God ain’t slow. It’s us humans who think we can move faster. But we can’t keep up. God knows the ‘wild beasts’ will eat us up later on. So God has to slow down and help us solve our problems step by step. Keep trusting in God. You will overcome your problems on God’s perfect timing.

Tell me what you think.

