Heaven scares me

heaven

Lying in bed scares me. In the quietness of the night, my mind drifts off to something out there. Something far beyond this earth.

To God. To Heaven. To Eternity.

I love God and as a Christian, this world ain’t my home. I’m just a stranger a passin’ through to my heavenly abode. And Heaven will be a wonderful place with no more pain, suffering, tears or death.

Rev 21:2-4

I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. ‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death’ or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”

But eternity still scares me and I think I know why.

Our human mind that is limited cannot fathom eternity that is infinite and limitless.

God lives outside the boundaries of time and space. As 2 Peter 3:8 says “with the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day.”

I sigh as the thought of being an immortal spirit trapped in the confines of perishable body finally grips me. No wonder the Bible says “God has set eternity in the hearts of men”. We are all headed to eternity: Heaven or Hell.

Though I struggle with dreary thoughts of being in heaven forever, I imagine it like a father taking a child to a special place to have fun. As a child, the excitement is there. The doubt is there. Will it really be fun?

Of course.

On those nights, in the midst of ravaging fears, Jesus comforts me. He reminds me that we will be with him! And he has promised we would be reigning with him for all eternity.

1 Corinthians 2:7-9

But we impart a secret and hidden wisdom of God, which God decreed before the ages for our glory. None of the rulers of this age understood this, for if they had, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory. But, as it is written,”What no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor the heart of man imagined, what God has prepared for those who love him”

Tell me what you think.

