Picking up the broken glass

image

I broke a glass bottle of peanuts tonight. As the cover wasn’t firmly tightened, I lost my grip. So we quickly cleaned up all the glass shards, especially the small ones. Some pieces flew pretty far too. My mother made sure it was totally clean as the small pieces could still give a nasty cut to the feet. I wouldn’t have been so thorough (I’m a big picture type). Thank God for mothers!

Likewise, sin is like those glass pieces. The big ones are easier to clear. But the small glass pieces if left alone, could still cut you bad. Don’t ignore the seemingly small sins. By the way there are no small sins.

Ephesians 5:3
But among you there must not be even a hint of sexual immorality, or of any kind of impurity, or of greed, because these are improper for God’s holy people.

Paul says not even a hint of sin! That’s really extreme clean up. Are you holding a sin that you think isn’t that serious? Or rationalizing that it’s not hurting anyone? Or that God will forgive you if you sin anyway?

I’m telling you, sin is dangerous and cannot be underestimated. It’s like a spark of fire that can burn your whole life to hell. Paul continues:

Ephesians 5:11-12
Have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness, but rather expose them. It is shameful even to mention what the disobedient do in secret.

You have to expose your sin to the light of God. Admit it to a trusted friend. Ask for prayers and accountability. Truly repent of it and sin no more. When your sin is exposed to the light, like a vampire, it dies. Don’t let it thrive in the dark, eating your soul till your conscience is seared.

Song of Solomon 2:15
Catch for us the foxes, the little foxes that ruin the vineyards, our vineyards that are in bloom.

Don’t let the little foxes ruin your vineyard.
Don’t let sin ruin your life.

3 thoughts on “Picking up the broken glass

  1. DID the broken glass thing about a month or so ago. THOUGHT I got it all and then nicked my toe one a fair sized piece that I didn’t see. I THINK I got it all. Sin, on the other hand, ALL has to be dealt with. Those little nicks might not seem like a lot, compared to nearly cutting a foot off, but the little cuts can get infected, too and do more harm because you don’t see the immediacy of the issue. “Little’ sins have that same effect.

    Speaking of which, I had a MAJOR communications issue with a woman I was emailing for a few weeks. She was a Marian Catholic. And when I mean Marian I mean MARIAN. Everything came back to Mary. I kept asking about JESUS. I honestly don’t think she understood what I was trying to say. I did ask if she believed that Mary and God were equal but I didn’t get an answer.

    A few days ago, a friend at church told me that her daughter’s friend’s aunt (follow that and I’ll give you a hundred grand! 😉 ) used to teach Catechism but didn’t know John 3:16. So I was basically speaking Dutch to a Greek. Bible Christianity to a staunch and steeped Catholic is a whole different language.

    1. I want the hundred G! Yeah that’s hard work you’re doing to reach out to your friends. Catholics seem to be difficult to reach out to as they call themselves Christians and inch ever closer in belief and practices. But most don’t know the word of God very well and religion is mostly a ritual, nothing very personal.

Tell me what you think.

